How to Renew Your License to Practice Optometry in
A license to practice optometry in Alabama in the upcoming year may
be renewed on October 1. Licenses not renewed by November 1 are
considered delinquent. A license that is not renewed by December 31 is
The license renewal fee is $160.00. An additional $100.00 fee is
required of doctors licensed to utilize therapeutic pharmaceutical
agents. An additional $10.00 is required with each therapeutic license
to fund Alabama's Prescription Drug Database. Renewal after December 31
requires an additional penalty fee of $200.00.
When renewing your license to practice optometry in Alabama, you must
certify that all continuing education hours required by the board have
been completed. Continuing education hours can be audited, and failure
to show proof of completion of the continuing education requirement can
result in severe penalties, including license suspension.
verifying that all CE requirements are met, click here to
renew your license.